My Thoughts on Writer’s Block (Cue Scary Music)

I honestly have no idea what I want to say in this post. I feel like I should come out with some profoundly wise advice that will change your writing game forever—but hey, if I could do that I would be rich.

We’re writing about perspectives this time around, and I still really don’t know what to write about.

So maybe I’ll write about that, about not knowing what to write, about the words not coming, about that frustrating thing that every writer has experienced: Writer’s block.

It’s fun stuff, huh? Sitting around at a blank screen, the cursor winking, mocking you.

We’ve all been there.

But here’s the thing, we all deal with it differently.

Personally, I don’t deal with it.

Yeah, I know how weird that sounds. Hang with me for a second.

Some people say that to get over writer’s block, you have to write. And I have no doubt that that’s true. I’m also sure that I could get over it faster if I did that. But honestly, I HATE writing when I don’t want to. I hate putting meaningless words on a page just so it’s not quite as blank.

Not only do I hate it, but it doesn’t do a lot for my confidence as a writer because I simply sit there thinking about how terrible what I’m writing is.

I don’t like that feeling. So, I try to avoid it.

I use to write everyday. Every. Single. Day. Something, anything. And it worked great! I produced a lot—some good, some not so good. But then life happened. I got busy, and I would skip a day here, and a day there. And now, I write when I WANT to.

Here’s the thing, I have plenty of chores in my life: Take the garbage out, do homework, feed the cat…you get the idea. I don’t want writing to be one of them. I don’t want to sit down at a computer, moan, and start writing because I’m forcing myself to write everday. I want to sit down, and not be able to type fast enough because I’m in love with the idea in my head.

I have a degree in Creative Writing. I also have a degree in Psychology. While I love both fields, I got my Creative Writing degree because it was fun. I loved going to class. I loved learning from some of the best professors. I even loved workshops.

I refuse to let that love turn into work that I don’t even like, which is exactly what it feels like when I write without inspiration.

So, to come full circle: I don’t write when I have writer’s block. I wait it out—not so patiently, I might add. I would like to add here that I might have writer’s block in one area of my writing life and not the other. For example, I might be burned out on fiction, but can churn out a poem no problem. And sometimes, I’m completely cut off from writing for a little while. And I think that’s okay, healthy maybe (or maybe I’m just trying to make myself feel better, who knows).

But as sure as writer’s block is, there’s another sure thing: It always ends. I always come back to the computer. I always come back to my worlds, to my words. And if I can’t do that, then I don’t want to do it at all.

I know my perspective on writer’s block might be strange or unpopular, but it’s mine. It’s what works for me. So, I guess if I had one overall message for this post it would be to handle writer’s block (or any writing issue, really) however the heck you want. There are no rules in this game. There is no write (haha) or wrong.

So, deal with writer’s block, or don’t. As long as it ends, and you’re able to come back to the magic, it doesn’t really matter.

Until next time,

Taylor

Leave a Reply

