Creativity Bubbles

Have you ever just not felt like writing? I have, and that is perfectly okay. I used to experience guilt whenever I couldn’t muster up enough creativity to put something profound on paper. There are two problems with that.

1.) Writing is supposed to be enjoyable, especially for someone who identifies as a writer. I have been making up stories for the vast majority of my life. When I was 12, I came up with the idea for my fantasy/adventure series. I had so much fun making maps, character profiles, and small conversations between my characters. Throughout high school and college, it stopped being fun mainly because I didn’t have the proper time to dedicate to my story. I would feel a surge of creativity coming on, but I couldn’t capitalize on it because I was busy memorizing some long forgotten mathematical equation, writing a news article for the paper I was part of, or dealing with some kind of drama associated with being a young adult. Even when I switched to the Creative Writing track in college, my creativity was put into other things. It wasn’t until I took Novel Writing with Dr. John Vanderslice that I had an excuse to aim my creativity bubbles at something I had longed for since the age of 12. Now, I have the second rough draft of the first novel in my series. To summarize, don’t feel guilty about not being in the mood to write. It will pass, and you will find your groove again.

Finishing the first draft of my very first novel in the library at the University of Central Arkansas. One of the happiest moments of my life. Photo taken by Sarah F. Wilson.
Finishing the first draft of my very first novel in the library at the University of Central Arkansas. One of the happiest moments of my life. Photo taken by Sarah F. Wilson.

2.) Not everything you write has to be profound. I am incredibly guilty of this. For example, my post about travel writing was one of my favorite nonfiction short pieces I’ve written. I was genuinely happy with it. I thought I could repeat the same magnificence in my next post about small towns, but I will honestly say that it wasn’t as good. That’s okay. I would much rather be a writer known for a few amazing works than a dozen subpar ones.

Everyone has a muse. Luna is mine. I'm also a bit old school when it comes to taking notes for my stories.
Everyone has a muse. Luna is mine. I’m also a bit old school when it comes to taking notes for my stories.

One never knows when the creativity bubble is going to show itself. We also can’t tell when it’s going to burst, so better to get at it when we have it! I write in bursts of creativity, not a constant stream. I would love to know your thoughts and even your own creative personality types. Feel free to tell me about how creativity comes to you in the comment section below.

From the Golden State and the City of Angels,

Darby

Leave a Reply

