Still a Virgin

Oh my gosh! It’s my first time, and it is so scary. I’m not sure if I can take on something so substantial. I’m taking about NANOWRIMO. Get your mind out of the gutter!

National Novel Writing Month is upon us, and I have never taken part before. I have, in fact, written a novel. That was over a semester, of course. This time…things are very different. Obviously, I have no tips to give as of yet. Jobe has written an amazing post filled with treasures for you all. I suggest you check it out.

https://6inklings.wordpress.com/2014/10/24/jobes-monster-long-ultra-helpful-list-of-pointers-for-nano/

As of now, I do not have a title for my new novel. I do have some notes and a general direction in which to go. There are dozens of write-ins scattered throughout the month all around LA. If you sign up at nanowrimo.org, you can see what gatherings are going to take place in your area. If you want to follow my progress, you can buddy up to me. Username: Darby Riales. I’m so creative.

I have written about how to guard against writer’s block in the past. Perhaps it might help a bit.

https://6inklings.wordpress.com/2014/07/02/make-writers-block-your-bitch/

Taylor Hicks, Elizabeth Furrey, Darby Riales, Allison Brass, and Sarah F. Wilson at a Vortex event Winter 2013.
Taylor Hicks, Elizabeth Furrey, Darby Riales, Allison Brass, and Sarah F. Wilson at a Vortex event Winter 2013.

So, this is my first time. That doesn’t mean that it has to be painful. Let’s all try to have fun and make it as memorable as possible. If you wish to share your own personal experiences with NANOWRIMO, feel free to put that comment box to good use.

From the City of Angels…

Darby

One thought on “Still a Virgin

Leave a Reply

