Jobe’s February Reads

And it’s time for your end of the month check in: what did you read In February? Here’s a quick review of the books I read this month.

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson
This book was absolutely as hilarious as the reviews warned, so I counted it as my “funny book.” If you’re looking for a quirky memoir with lots of humor, this one is for you.

Memoirs of a Beatnik by Diane DiPrima
This book, while ‘memoir’ is in the title, was released as a work of fiction, so I counted it as my “based on a true story” book. It focuses on the sex life of a young woman living in poverty in New York in the beatnik era.

After the Orange Glow by Mark Spitzer
This memoir is as bizarre as it is awesome, which is a lot of both. I counted it as my “book with a color in the title.” Spitzer uses nothing but the zaniest, most evocative language to jerk you up by the shirt collar and get you thinking about the big questions, like what is it all for?

The Andromeda Strain by Michael Crichton
This is a classic work of science fiction, and I’m working to fill in the gaps of classics I missed. This one scared me when I was little and I didn’t finish it until now, so I counted this as my “book from your childhood.” It was interesting for me to read a book that didn’t focus on a particular character so much as an event.

Neurotica by Elva Maxine Beach
This is a bold, brave memoir about sexual appetites and how relationships go wrong. This book is packed with poetry as well as prose that will startle and leave you feeling shocked and vulnerable. I first counted it as my “book you can read in a day” but had to change my vote to “book that makes you cry” after I stayed up half the night processing it.

(If you notice a theme in my reading, that’s because I have my own sex-filled memoir in the works to be completed as the thesis for my MFA creative writing degree.)

Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma
My final book of the month was a YA novel about a brother and a sister in love. I was particularly interested in how a YA novelist might or might not treat the topic of consensual incest differently than an author writing for an adult audience. I won’t give any spoilers but I didn’t personally prefer the ending, so if you read this one let me know and we can compare notes on how we might’ve ended it differently. This book was set in high school but was the only one I could think of for the “started but never finished” category, as I’d tried to read it once before but lost interest.

Thanks for tuning in and I hope our many snow days helped you pack in some extra reading and writing this month!

Until Next Time,

Jobe

 

1 2 3 4 5222

Leave a Reply

