January Reads in Review

I am a notoriously slow reader, so don’t be too disappointed in my modest two finished books for this first month of reading. I’ve read about a million otomé romance novels on my phone but they don’t count as books since you play them as phone games. Oops!

Book No. 1
My first finished book for January was Tell The Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt. It was slow to start, and I wasn’t sure at first if I would like it, but I gave it a chance and I’m really glad I did. If I had to classify this book I would probably call it modern literary fiction–there’s no magic or zombies–but I don’t mean it to be derogatory if I say that nothing much happens. There’s no space battles or apocalypses or shipwrecks. Tell The Wolves I’m Home primarily explores the depth of human emotion and how we process loss. At the beginning of the book a family member dies, and we as readers spend the rest of the book getting to know him through the memories of the other characters. We also explore how the main characters of the book experience loss and grief and jealousy, as well as growing up. Brunt uses beautiful language to plumb these depths, and her sentiments are always authentic, her characters flawed but lovable. Deep thought and care went into the crafting of this story, and that shines through at every turn. I’m better for having read this work, and I daresay you will be too.

Reading Challenges
I signed up for a whole bunch of reading challenges this year and I’m going to try and finish as many of them as possible.  For the PopSugar 2017 reading challenge I marked this off as No. 4, Audiobook. For the Book Dragon’s Lair Audiobook challenge this qualifies me for 1 of 1 at the Bit level and 1 of 10 toward the Byte level. Unless audiobooks don’t count toward Book Dragon’s Lair Pages Read challenge, this puts me at 360 pgs of 12k pgs for the Bonsai level. For My Reader’s Block Color Coded challenge this cover color is Green and is 1 of 9 completed. This is a first-time read for me, not a re-read, so it doesn’t count for Read It Again, Sam, and I’m at 0 of 4 for the Déjà vu level. For My Reader’s Block Mount To Be Read (TBR) it doesn’t count because this audiobook does not belong to me, (it’s a library book) so I’m still at 0 of 12 for the Pike’s Peak level. For the Rock My TBR challenge I’m not counting it because I didn’t know about it before reading it, so it wasn’t on my TBR list. So I’m still at 0 of 12 for that one too. For the Diverse Reads challenge (here and here) this book qualifies as diverse because it features queer characters, but it doesn’t fit the optional mini-challenge for January, which relates to mythology. For The Book Date Full House challenge I marked this book for the Debut Book category. For The Book Date Read the Books You Buy challenge it doesn’t count because it’s a library book. For the Whatever I Think Of Memoir Bingo challenge it doesn’t count because it is not a memoir. For The Worm Hole’s What’s In A Name challenge, I’m count this one as having a building word in the title, assuming “home” can be counted the same was as “house.” This would put me at 1 of 6. Below are the hashtags of the challenges that had them.

#popsugarreadingchallenge
#rockmytbr
#diversereads2017
#whatsinaname2017

All the best of luck to all of you out there reading or writing or both this year! Let’s flex our brain muscles and read strong, write strong.

Love!
Jobe

 

Leave a Reply

