February Reads in Review

A new month, a new batch!

Book No. 3
My third finished book was The Girl with All the Gifts by M. R. Carey. This book was super fast-paced and exciting, so it’s no surprise that this book is being made into a movie! I’ll definitely be doing a compare and contrast once it’s out and I’ve seen it. This is a new spin on the zombie apocalypse story because the main character is a sentient zombie, and struggles to understand the world around her and her place in it. For all of our main characters, life is on the line at every turn, and only by working together can they hope to survive! A thrilling adventure from beginning to end. A prequel is rumored to be in the works. And since I listened to the audiobook I’d just like to add that the voice acting was great, too. PS: I love a book that I can’t predict!!

Reading Challenges
And now for everyone’s favorite game, categorizing the book into my reading challenges. For the PopSugar 2017 reading challenge I marked this off as No. 11, uses a pseudonym. Apparently M. R. Carey is a pen name for a well known British comic book author and artist (but I don’t know who!). For the Book Dragon’s Lair Audiobook challenge this one was an audiobook, so I’m at 2 of 10 for the Byte level. For the Book Dragon’s Lair Pages Read challenge, this 460 pgs puts me at a total of 1,238 pgs toward 12k pgs on the Bonsai level. For My Reader’s Block Color Coded challenge this cover color is Yellow and is 3 of 9 completed. This is not a re-read, so for Read It Again, Sam I’m still at 1 of 4 at the Déjà vu level. For My Reader’s Block Mount To Be Read (TBR) this was not on my tbr list so I’m still at 1 of 12 for the Pike’s Peak level, and Rock My TBR challenge is still at 1 of 12 too. For the Diverse Reads challenge (here and here) this book qualifies as diverse because one of the four main characters is black. Interestingly, the movie version chose to make two of the other main characters black instead. Weird, right? I’m interested to see what the movie-makers and author have to say about the changes. This book fits the optional mini-challenge for February, which is having a Person of Color (POC) as a main character. For The Book Date Full House challenge I marked this book for the Page Turner category. For The Book Date Read the Books You Buy challenge it doesn’t count because I got it from the library (don’t worry, I will be buying books this year). For the Whatever I Think Of Memoir Bingo challenge it doesn’t count because it is not a memoir (I swear I’ll get to one soon!). For The Worm Hole’s What’s In A Name challenge, it fits the alliteration category (Girl, Gifts) so I’m at 2 of 6 completed. Below are the hashtags of the challenges that had them.

#popsugarreadingchallenge
#rockmytbr
#diversereads2017
#whatsinaname2017

I hope your February reading and writing has been absolutely fantastic and you can’t wait to see what March brings. Write strong, Read strong.

Love!
Jobe

 

Leave a Reply

