Thursday Writers w Jobe

I’ve been pretty excited by all the reading challenges lately but I haven’t forgotten about writing, I promise. I have a local group that exchanges work every other week and meets every other week to critique each other’s work, which I’ve dubbed Second Set, because it’s always good to have a second set of eyes on your work.

I have also had the good fortune lately to be spending time with Karen Hayes, who is the indomitable spearhead of the Laman Scribble — a monthly gathering at Laman Library for practice writing on the spot! — and Dogtown Poetry on Demand. She is a force to be reckoned with, a presence in the community, and a kindred spirit. We have lately been asked to co-teach some CALS poetry programs for teens in preparation for the upcoming teen poetry contests! (You may have seen my over-eager pre-post a few days ago.) So I’ve been percolating on that, too.

If you have kids or younger siblings that fit the bill, please tell them to check it out. Here’s the link for the one at Main, and below are all the dates and times at various branches:

16831878_10154144913816891_350472519431772921_n
Source The Master Shift

Thursday, March 9
4:00 p.m.
Rooker Library
“If You’re a Poet…”
Karen & Jobe

Thursday, March 23
4:30 p.m.
Williams Library
“Poetry Out Loud”
Jobe (solo)

Thursday, March 30
4:00 p.m.
Main Library, Level 4
“Poetry for All”
Karen & Jobe

Friday, March 31
4:00 p.m.
Nixon Library
“Words with Teens”
Karen (solo)

 

Thinking about teens and poetry reminded me that sometimes you’ve got to go all the way back to the beginning, and Analytical Grammar had this fun post the class might enjoy:

16831878_10154144913816891_350472519431772921_n

I could give them my own beginner’s rhyme invention, my frustration, in limeric:

The problem in writing a poem
Is not knowing how to begin
Followed succintly
With how to continue
And finally writing the end.

But more than anything, I think young people will respond to the genuineness and fervor of slam poetry, so I sort of just want to inundate them with favorites!

Leave a Reply

