More on the topic of Teen Poetry

 

Back in April, as part of the excitement surrounded the annual Literary Festival, Karen Hayes and I taught a handful of teen poetry classes at various library branches. It was a lot of fun, and there was a lot of talent in those rooms. Once the celebration took place, I didn’t think too much more about it. Well just the other night I was scrolling through the pics on my phone trying to see what I could delete to make more space when I chanced back upon the pics I’d snapped of our teen poetry workshop at the Main Library, in Lvl 4 (an entire floor of the library dedicated to just teens). Some of the stuff people wrote was silly, which is to be expected. We’re asking people to stretch writing muscles they seldom used. But more than a little bit of what they came up with was interesting, thought-provoking. So I wanted to share some of the highlights.

If I were a bird, I would know how the world looked from the top.

This cartoon world is taking over mine.

Blood runs deep.

If the idea of writing poetry sparks something in you, be sure to check out: Power Poetry

Leave a Reply

