February Reads in Review

Didn’t think I’d make it through one more book before the month was out but I did!

Book No. 6
My sixth finished book was Divergent by Veronica Roth. This was one of those books and then movies that was all the rage and I kept meaning to but never picked up until now. OMG I finally understand why people got so excited about it! It’s a thrilling read! The main character and her crew are brave and good, and we as readers can admire and sometimes imagine ourselves as like them. The bad guys are pretty obviously bad guys, but it doesn’t really spoil the fun. Things keep getting crazier and crazier and you’re surrounded by all-out pandemonium and insanity. I could not put this book down. I tried to make an argument against grocery shopping so that I could keep reading instead. DANG. This book was so fast-paced and I’m left with my mind reeling wondering, if this much happens in a single book, what on earth will the next two be like!? I even forgave the author for the one thing that bugged me, naming her five factions with different parts of speech: why would she make Erudite and Dauntless adjectives while the others, Amity, Candor, and Abnegation are nouns! But yeah, I got over it, because the book is that good.

Reading Challenges
And now, the reading challenges. For the PopSugar 2017 reading challenge I marked this one for No. 39, the first book in a series you haven’t read before. For the Book Dragon’s Lair Audiobook challenge this one was not an audiobook, so I remain at 2 of 10 for the Byte level (don’t worry, I do have an audiobook in process). For the Book Dragon’s Lair Pages Read challenge, this 487 pgs puts me at 2,569 pgs of 12k pgs on the Bonsai level. For My Reader’s Block Color Coded challenge this cover is multi-colored and doesn’t really fit any of the requirements so I’m still at 4 of 9 completed. This is not a re-read, so for Read It Again, Sam I’m still at 1 of 4 at the Déjà vu level. For My Reader’s Block Mount To Be Read (TBR) this was definitely on my tbr list for a long while, putting me at 3 of 12 for the Pike’s Peak level, and Rock My TBR challenge at 3 of 12 too. For the Diverse Reads challenge (here and here) I didn’t really think of this book as diverse; there are characters of different skin colors but it’s so nominal it’s hard to even remember which are the non-white characters. However, the main character is constantly facing very dangerous situations, so I’ll be interested to see if the author explores physical disability in the series. For The Book Date Full House challenge I marked this book for being on my TBR list for more than 2 years. It came out in 2011 and the movie came out in 2014, so it’s been in the back of my brain for a long while. For The Book Date Read the Books You Buy challenge it doesn’t count because my mom gave me my copy. For the Whatever I Think Of Memoir Bingo challenge it doesn’t count because it is not a memoir. For The Worm Hole’s What’s In A Name challenge, it doesn’t fit any of the categories so I’m still at 2 of 6 completed. Below are the hashtags of the challenges that had them.

#popsugarreadingchallenge
#rockmytbr
#diversereads2017
#whatsinaname2017

I hope your February reading and writing has been absolutely fantastic and you can’t wait to see what March brings. Write strong, Read strong.

Love!
Jobe

Leave a comment