February Reads in Review

Is it just me or is February really zooming by? How strange to have rain when this time a few years ago we were snowed in!

Book No. 4
The fourth book I finished reading was the second book of the Abarat series, Abarat: Days of Magic, Nights of War by Clive Barker. As expected we are in for another full-color painting filled book just as gorgeous as the one before it. Barker knows how to sparsely recap so a new reader won’t be lost and a continuing reader won’t be bored. The story for Candy and her friends continues onward with crazy dream-like circumstances and consequences. I found myself trudging a bit but the middle but the end starts to really pick up again: there are several chapters that are swapping cliff-hanger-ending-style between two exciting scenes and I had to keep reading to find out how both would conclude! The progression of Candy as a character is interesting to witness as she comes into her own. I look forward to seeing how the next book will advance the story!

Reading Challenges
And now for everyone’s favorite game, categorizing the book into my reading challenges. For the PopSugar 2017 reading challenge I marked this off as No. 15, a book with a subtitle. For the Book Dragon’s Lair Audiobook challenge this one was not, so I’m still at 2 of 10 for the Byte level. For the Book Dragon’s Lair Pages Read challenge, this 512 pgs puts me at a total of 1,750 pgs toward 12k pgs on the Bonsai level. For My Reader’s Block Color Coded challenge this cover color is Red and is 4 of 9 completed. This is not a re-read, so for Read It Again, Sam I’m still at 1 of 4 at the Déjà vu level. For My Reader’s Block Mount To Be Read (TBR) this was on my tbr list so I’m at 2 of 12 for the Pike’s Peak level, and Rock My TBR challenge is 2 of 12 too. For the Diverse Reads challenge (here and here) this book qualifies as diverse because its author is queer. For The Book Date Full House challenge I marked this book for the UK Author category. For The Book Date Read the Books You Buy challenge it doesn’t count because I already had it–I think I got it as a discard from the library. For the Whatever I Think Of Memoir Bingo challenge it doesn’t count because it is not a memoir. For The Worm Hole’s What’s In A Name challenge, it doesn’t fit any categories (I’m having a hard time with this one) so I’m still at 2 of 6 completed. Below are the hashtags of the challenges that had them.

#popsugarreadingchallenge
#rockmytbr
#diversereads2017
#whatsinaname2017

I hope your February reading continues to be wonderful and you keep your pages out of the rain.

Love,
Jobe

Leave a Reply

